jueves, 11 de junio de 2009

100 parlamentarios indios firman por la liberación de Suu Kyi

June 10, 2009: Over 100 parliamentarians, including MPs from the NCP, SP and JD (U), called on the government on Wednesday to intervene and secure the release of Burmese pro-democracy leader and Nobel Laureate Aung San Suu Kyi.

Janeshwar Mishra (SP), Sharad Yadav (JD-U), Brinda Karat (CPI-M), D Raja (CPI), Supriya Sule (NCP) and 113 other MPs from both Houses of Parliament signed a petition, which the Indian Parliamentarians Forum for Democracy in Burma later submitted to Prime Minister Manmohan Sin-gh and minister of external affairs S.M. Krishna.

The petition urged the government to lean on the Burmese military junta and free Ms Suu Kyi.

In a separate letter addressed to Burmese General Than Shwe, which was submitted to the Burmese embassy here, the MPs called on the Burmese military rulers to release Aung San Suu Kyi unconditionally.

Abani Roy from the Revolutionary Socialist Party told a press conference here on Wednesday that the MPs, cutting across party lines, will bring pressure on the government to take action for the immediate release of Aung San Suu Kyi and restoration of democracy in Burma.